Adopt a Dog

 

Featured below are the dogs and puppies currently available for adoption at NAHS. New dogs and puppies could be made available any day of the week, so be sure to check the site often. For more information on our adoption process, click here. To read what some of our previous adopters have to say, click here.

You can see larger and additional photos by clicking on the names and pictures below and can sort the table by clicking on column headers for gender or age.

You might wonder why we no longer list a breed or breed mix for each dog and instead state Unknown Parentage. Please click here for more information. 

*This page was last updated on February 24, 2017*

Name Age Breed Sex Status
Aurora 0Y 4M Unknown Parentage Female Adopted!

Do you have dreams?  I do, I dream of finding a wonderful family who I can play with and love.  As with all puppies, I will need a lot of socialization and training and the patience that goes with that.  I'm all sorts of busy and curious and will definitely keep my new family on their toes.  I think I would enjoy having another dog to play with and show me the ropes of living in a home and might be OK with a cat as well.  If you're dreaming of friend to love for years to come, hurry in and meet me, I know you'll love me at once, the way you did once upon a dream.

Bucky 4Y 3M Unknown Parentage Male Available

I'm a shy guy searching for a quiet home I can call my own.  Well, mine and my friend Henry's.  He really helps me feel more confident when I'm in new situations.  Aren't friends great?  I promise once I get comfortable with my new family I can be quite playful.  Especially when I'm playing with my friend Henry.  I would prefer if there were no other dogs in our home but I think I cat would be ok.  It would also be best if children were at least 12 years old.  So if you're willing to give us a chance and see just how great we are, stop by soon to say hi.

*Bonded with Henry

Charlie 5Y 3M Unknown Parentage Male Available

Hi there, I'm Charlie and here are a few things I think you should know about me. First, I love to snuggle under blankets.  Since it has been so cold out it is high on my list of priorities.  If you're looking for a dog that will only cuddle and not play, well I'm not your guy.  I love to play with squeaky toys.  Especially fetch because that means we get to play together!  My ideal home would have someone home the majority of the day, I just really really like to be around people.  Some of my dislikes are being left alone, other dogs, and doors (they keep me away from my people).  I like to think that my perfect family is out there searching for me right now....could it be you?

Chester 7Y 1M Unknown Parentage Male Available

I'm a gentle, laid-back guy who enjoys the simple life.  A soft bed to sleep on, 2 square meals a day, some squeaky toys, going for walks, and of course, lots of love.  That's simple right?  While I do enjoy the company of other dogs, I think it would be best if I were the only pet in the household since I don't like to share my things.  So maybe we can find me some friends to play with?  Also, I think it would be best if children are at least 8 years old.  If you're looking for a friend to give a little extra love too, I'm your guy.

Chewy 4Y 7M Unknown Parentage Male Available

Chewy here to tell you all the wonderful things about myself.  First things first, I'm very big and I'm very strong.  I enjoy going for walks and being outside but it might be best for everyone if I have a fenced in yard to play in.  I love to play with all types of toys, balls, frisbees, squeaky, tug toys, you name it, I'll play with it.  I can be nervous around new people, but if you show me that I can trust you then we'll be good friends.  I do need to be the only pet in my new home, but I promise I'll be so great you won't need anyone else. Children in my new home should be at least 16 years old and have experience with large dogs.  

Colt 2Y 6M Unknown Parentage Male Available

Hi! My name's Colt, and I like warm hugs!  My previous owners said that I just might be the most affectionate dog in the whole wide world.  And so far, everyone I've met seems to agree.  Since I love people just oh so much, I really dislike being left alone.  This means that I will need to live in a home where someone is home all day long to love on me and give me belly rubs.  A young, energetic boy like me also needs a lot of exercise, so a fenced in yard would be wonderful so I can run around and play soccer.  Oh, did I mention I can play soccer?  Well, my own version of it, but I think I'm pretty good.  While I cannot live with cats, I think I would like having another energetic dog to run and play with.  Oh and did I mention kids should be at least 8 years old.  I can't wait for you to come visit me!

Henry 6Y 3M Unknown Parentage Male Available

I'm a bouncy little guy who likes to hop and play and run around all day.  I love my friend Bucky and we play together very nicely outside.  Bucky also helps me with my confidence, which is why we need to go home together.  You see, I can be a little nervous when first meeting new people and being in new places.  However once I get to know you and know I can trust you, I can be quite cuddly.  I might be ok if there is a cat in my new home, but please, no other dogs, besides Bucky.  Children in my new home should be at least 12 years old.  If you're willing to give two shy guys a chance, stop by soon.

*Bonded with Bucky

Macy 4Y 0M Unknown Parentage Female Available

Info coming soon.  Please enjoy my cute photo!

Misty 2Y 7M Unknown Parentage Female Available

I'll be honest, I'm new at this whole 'talk about yourself' thing.  In fact, a lot of things are new for me.  It seems that I missed out on some very important socialization when I was younger so now new situations and new things scare me.  I'm slowly learning that not all new things are bad, like squeaky toys, they're kind of fun.  And treats, those things are amazing!  I do really like other dogs, so having a confident dog in my home would be helpful in showing me the ropes.  I might do ok living with a cat as well.  Would you like to give a sweet girl like me a chance?

Rosie 5Y 0M Unknown Parentage Female Available

Info coming soon.  Please enjoy my cute photo!